input

in·put

ˈinˌpo͝ot/
noun
  1. what is put in, taken in, or operated on by any process or system.

 

In the last year I’ve really come into myself. For those of you who don’t know, I’m going to be a Junior at Indiana Wesleyan University next year as a double major in Journalism and Strategic Communications. Previous to this, I was a nursing major. For two semesters plus a may term, I spent my days trying to cram random facts about the human body into my head and trying to train myself to transform the way that I process information.

It really wasn’t for me.

I learned a lot about myself that year. Specifically, what I’m not good at: being taught how to think.

Now, I really don’t mean to insult any nursing majors or practicing nurses. My mother is a nurse and I have the greatest respect for what she does and the insane amount of work that she puts in every day. Leading up to my college years, I interned for about four weeks at a hospital shadowing nurses. I know that what they do is amazing, it just takes a very different mind.

I’ve digressed… But what I’m trying to say is that it just wasn’t for me.

As a part of my first year experience at IWU, I was required to take a test called StrengthsQuest. Through taking this exam, I was able to discover my top five strengths. Throughout various classes that I have taken since then, I’ve explored those further and unpacked how they affect me day to day.

One of my most prominent strengths is input. A brief description of the various strengths can be found on StrengthsQuest’s website. This is what they had to say about this particular attribute:

“People especially talented in the Input theme have a craving to know more. Often they like to collect and archive all kinds of information.”

Communications has been an amazing outlet that has allowed me to explore perspectives, to consider different angles, and to pursue objectivity while still developing my own personal opinion. It’s empowered me to speak what I think and appreciate the feedback that it evokes.

But, as I’ve explored this whole different world of education, I have really been struck with how misinformed I am about the world around me. One of my professors specifically is always referencing the things that are happening in the world around us and nine times out of ten, I am completely oblivious. I have so much yet to know.

So lets do something about it.

I recently listened to a podcast put on by NPR’s TED Radio Hour. The episode was entitled “A Better You.” The episode featured a variety of people who have spoken on the topic of self improvement. Their approaches varied. One guy intentionally set himself to be rejected every day, one fellow became a monk and learned the power of meditation, the one that stuck with me the most was a man who committed to a daily action for one month at a time.

“It takes thirty days to form a habit,” He said. “The types of things you do don’t have to be difficult.”

So, inspired by this podcast, I’m going to do something every day for the remainder of this month (and we’ll see if it sticks). I’m going to read, listen to, or watch something pertaining to the news for 10 minutes a day.

As an (potential) aspiring journalist, I think this will prove to be a important activity that will make me a more informed U.S. citizen and just human in general. Like I’ve mentioned in my previous blog post, as my circles grow larger and more complicated, the people bring the influences of their circles to mine. We are all connected and this will cause me to take that more seriously.

So, here it goes. Maybe this will inspire a follow up post? We’ll see.

 

 

Leave a Reply

